Tinder Date #2: “English is my Second Language” guy

Stats:

  • The typical club promoter.
  • English is not his first language
  • Apparently, he is part Japanese.
  • Got excited when I told him that I never had a boyfriend.
  • Two years older than me.
  • A college student in Tokyo

Overall, I thought it went ok.

We met up at his university and he showed me around the campus, struggled over language barriers because he seemed to not be responsive over half of what I said, traveled to the next station because there was nothing to do, and ate soba and ice cream.

It was definitely a date that felt like a date.

Did we have a spark? I have no idea. I thought he was a fashionable guy, probably took more time on his hair than I did, I found it annoying that he hummed the same song over and over again when the conversation lulled, but I think the language barrier was the biggest issue.

I added him on Instagram, Facebook, just to make sure he was a real person before meeting up, and LINE to communicate because that green app is the main mode of communication in Japan. I still don’t get it. Why not use messenger?

Will I meet him again? Who knows. I might, because he was cute, but I don’t think I’ll be doing anything more than a quick peck on the cheek because I want someone that I can a proper conversation with. I never knew I was so picky before I got into Tinder.

 

Update: He has now “ghosted” me. I try not to care.

Leave a Reply

